Eileen Charbonneau tells us about Seven Aprils and Mercies of the Fallen


Welcome to author Eileen Charbonneau! Enjoy!

Eileen Charbonneau’s unique viewpoint reflects heritage that includes immigrant Irish, French Canadian, Eastern European ancestors and Huron and Shoshone relatives. She enjoys exploring the perspectives of people often left out of history: its women, its immigrants, its marginalized poor. Eileen has published historical fiction for adults as well for young readers.

Eileen lives in the brave little state of Vermont and runs a small historic house B and B with her husband Ed. She adores him, her kids, and sweet grandchild Desmond. Eileen is addicted to American roots music and dance, and maple creemies.

What would you say are your strengths as an author?
I have a passion to tell the stories of the American experience from the point of view of the people I did not read about in my schools’ history books…the women, the poor, the immigrants, the Native Americans, the people of color, the ones who did not follow the prevailing winds, the ones who had the courage to effect change. I also know that I’m got going to get it right the first draft. I know how to accept help and do some mighty re-writes! It is a great compliment to hear from readers that my stories flow well…I work very hard for that.

How often do you write, and do you write using a strict routine?
That’s a difficult question for a writer to answer, because we’re always writing…everything we experience is grist for the mill. This can be unsettling for our near and dear and strangers alike! I am a four-square kind of writer, meaning that what works for me is to write every day. I started an early morning routine so I could get a couple of quiet hours before my little children woke up. I discovered through this necessity that I’m a lark writer: that’s the best time for me. In the afternoon, I do my research because historical writing needs a lot of it!

Five years from now, where do you see yourself as a writer?
I hope I still have enough reader interest and publishing support to still be offering books then. But hey, I’m a cancer survivor…truth to tell, I’ll be happy to be alive and still making trouble in five years!

If you could offer once piece of advice to a novice writer, what would it be?
Enjoy the process. Work from your passion. It’s too hard a job not to feel both passion and joy. Embrace your supporters…readers, editors, publishers.  You’re creating a beautiful artifact together.

What would you consider to be the best compliment a reader could give your book?
I’m deeply grateful for any joy my stories bring to readers.  Each reader brings her own life to a book and so it becomes different story for each. I feel honored to hear from readers and find out about them through their reactions to the work of my heart. That’s why I love to hear from readers. There are no bad compliments!

Was there a person who encouraged you to write?
There were many, but one was life-changing.  When I was 23, Diana C. Gleason taught a writing for publication adult-education class that I was dragged to by a friend. Diana was a wonderful teacher, full of nuts-and-bolts advice and encouragement. After the course she invited me to join her own weekly writers’ workshop. My life changed. I wanted to keep finding tools, teachers, sisters and brothers in story, and readers for my stories.

Eileen's young adult novels The Woods Family Trilogy is composed of The Ghosts of Stony CloveIn the Time of the Wolves, and Honor To the Hills.  The novels are set in the Catskill Mountains from 1809 through 1852.  Books in the series were chosen as a Best Book by the Children's Book Council for Social Studies curriculum and have won the Golden Medallion for excellence in young adult fiction.

The American Century Novel Series begins in Federal era Virginia in The Randolph Legacy, moving to the Trail of Tears and mid-century 19th century history of the Great Hunger in Ireland and Manifest Destiny in the United States in Rachel LeMoyne. California’s early 20th century conservation movement is the subject of Waltzing in Ragtime.  Books in this series have been nominated for Hearts of the West and Rita awards from Romance Writers of America.

Eileen’s Code Talker Chronicles suspense series follows the World War II exploits of Luke Kayenta, a Navajo Code Talker officer in the Office of Strategic Services and his fellow officer Kitty Charante, war widow and spy. The first two books are I’ll Be Seeing You and Watch Over Me, which has won a Chanticleer Award for Women’s fiction and been named a finalist in the Daphne duMaurier Award and Golden Leaf Award for Romantic Suspense.

American Civil War Brides series follows the lives of couples brought together by the most soul-searing conflict the United States has endured. The first of the series is Seven Aprils, the second Mercies of the Fallen.


In April 1860, Dr. Ryder Cole returns home from his studies, sure of his abilities and on fire to serve his country and preserve the Union. A panther attack threatens to cut his life short until a young woman with a rife and a sure-shot eye appears out of the mist. Then she disappears, re-turning as Tom Boyde, his comrade throughout America’s Civil War, and as Diana, met in a Washington D.C. whore house. The seven Aprils from 1860 to 1866 tell their tale of love and war, sex and friendship. And the price of crossing gender lines.

“Eileen Charbonneau pens an emotion-filled tale. Through her story of love, comradeship and struggle through the Civil War, Seven Aprils illuminates women's hidden role in history by a mas-ter at bringing the past to life. Not to be missed!”
Joanne Pence, USA Today bestselling author


Maryland plantation heiress Ursula Martin is content with her secluded life in a con-vent. Until the bloodiest day of the Civil War brings a downed soldier into her care.

Blinded Rowan Buckley only knows he’s in deep love with the woman who pulled him off the battlefield. His superiors claim she’s a spy. He knows she’s full of secrets, but he’s out to prove that treason is not one of them.

The two negotiate the crucial times of the Battle of Antietam, Gettysburg, and the New York City Draft Riots. Treachery meets them at every crossroad. Will their love survive?

“In the tradition of Willa Cather…Her women, especially, carry with them a dignity of purpose as inevitable as the story of abolition, civil war, enmity and love that flows through their lives.” Robert Crooke, author of American Family and The Chastened Heart

“At a time when our country was most divided, two lovers earn their happiness through a larger-than-life journey of sacrifice and pure grit. Rich in historical detail…”
Jenna Kernan, Publishers Weekly Bestselling Author of Winter Woman


twitter: @EileenC1988
Facebook: @EileenCharbonneauAuthor
Instagram: eileencharbonneau


Popular posts from this blog

Jack Byrne discusses The Liverpool Mystery series

An Interview with Dr. Bob Rich about his Books and Bobbing Around

A New Release, A Free Book and Happy Birthday to ME!!